Jackalynn

My precious Jackalynn Lee……

1486870533790

Before she was born it was just me, Jairo, our dog Miya and our cat Rambo. It had been that way for 6 years (minus Rambo for 5). It was great.

We never really worried about much. We would go where we wanted, when we wanted to. Once or twice a week we would go out to eat, and fast food was basically an everyday thing. The TV was always on something not rated for children and our choice in music may have been questionable (ok, it still is but we keep it low key now).

We both had jobs before Jackalynn. I guess I still have a job, it’s just a new and different kind of job, but I digress.

I held so many different jobs, but the most recent was as a Photographer at a school and sports photography company. I absolutely loved it and I worked until my doctor put me on maternity leave. After that, as a family, we decided that I would be a Stay at Home Mom (SAHM for short).

That is where Jack and June begins.

Things have changed a bit since Jackalynn was born. We dont eat out nearly as often as we used to and fast food is a thing of the past (for me anyway, Jairo still has the ocasional “snack”). We are more cautious about the things we eat and drink.

Going anywhere now a days is like a Task Force mission. Any Mom will tell you, we carry enough supplies to take care of a small Army. Gone are the days of spontaneity and quick trips to the grocery store. We spend more time together watching our friends party on Snapchat than we spend actually partying ourselves, and we actually don’t mind it one bit. And boy has our schedule changed. Jairo went from a M-F 9-5 job, to a Sunday-Thursday graveyard job. We are still learning to adjust.

I have learned so many wonderful things in the past 234 days. There have been ups and downs, twists and turns, tears of joy and tears of frustration, but all in all this is the happiest I have been in my life.

As I said, I have learned so many wonderful things. Some of those things may not seem so wonderful to some, but every moment of motherhood has its blessings. Oh the snoty, poopie, drooling, bite your nipple blessings!

What have I learned?

I’ve learned how to appreciate myself more. I’ve also learned to appreciate Jairo, our families and our friends more. I’ve learned some new organization skills, that I will share at some point. My cooking and cleaning skills have improved. But most importantly, I’ve learned how to be a Mother, and still have a lot left to learn.

I’ve learned how to breastfeed, give baths, clip nails and clean ears. I’ve done countless hours of reading and research on endless topics having to do with the health and wellness of my baby and I know that learning will never be finished.

I will soon learn how to care for a baby with plagiocephaly, and I will continue learning how to treat eczema. In my next post, I will introduce you to some of my favorite products that I have used, including the best eczema cream you will ever find (hint: Its Babyganics).

I look forward to sharing our journey with you and I hope to be a source of advice and comfort for other parents.

If you’re still reading, thank you for being here! Make sure to subscribe to get updates about new posts!

Leave a Reply

