Helmet Update 

When I started blogging about Jackalynn’s helmet journey, I expected a lot more. We are coming up on the 2 month mark and I only have one word to describe it. 

Uneventful.

That’s it. Theres really not much to it. 

We take it off for one hour every night. Dad cleans the helmet while I give Jackalynn a bath. Then we read stories and wind down for bed while the helmet and Jacky’s hair dry. 

Somewhere around 45 minutes, Jacky will start to rub her head and get anxious, wanting to put her helmet back on. It’s like she feels naked without it. Sometimes, if everything is dry and depending on her mood, I might put it back on a few minutes early. I always try to stretch out the hour tho. 

We have gotten used to the constant stares, comments and questions from strangers. Children have become the worst offenders, but aren’t they always? Bless their honest little hearts. 

At this point, we sort of just joke about all the questions and have even joked about the obscene answers we should start giving people. From time to time, there will be moments when someones questions or comments get under our skin. But isn’t that natural? 

For example; we went out for breakfast at “America’s favorite Diner”. The waitress sat us, got a highchair, pointed at the helmet and the first words she says to us are, “What is this!?” I politely answered and explained what it is. It was her response and attutude that completely threw me. 

“Oh ya, I know all about it my grand daughter had one.” And then she just walked away. Not another word. 

*face palm* 

If you “know all about it”, then why are you disturbing my breakfast with your unnecessary questions? 

It’s times like these, when people ask and ask, say ridiculous things and then follow it up with arrogant comments, that drive us nuts and stick with us. 

 My advice? 

If you have no idea how to be a decent human being and carry on a civil conversation, then do not, I repeat, DO NOT ask questions, make comments, or try to relate to anyone. Just spare everyone the time and consult Google. 

On the other hand, these encounters are rare, or we are just getting better at ignoring them. We get a lot more positive comments then negative. 

Every where we go, Jackalynn turns on the charm and starts making friends. 

I’ll be minding my own business, strolling through Ikea and hear women make cooing noises, or comments to their husbands about, “how cute that baby is“. One young girl told her boyfriend “Stop! Me and that baby were bonding and you ruined it!” Without having to look, I knew “that baby” was the one sitting in the cart in front of me.

On that same trip, Jackalynn was serenading the store with what we call, the song of her people (that sing song, yelling babble that babies do) and I hear a group of older men behind me saying “Well! That was a bold statement for such a little lady! Arent you cute!” Again, I knew that “little lady” was  my little lady. 
So all in all, the helmet has been uneventful and rather easy. Other than making Jackalynn a magnet for constant attention. Which only increases my anxiety about stranger danger! 

Ooohhh good ole Mom life! 

Thank you for reading and following our story. Please be sure to like this post and follow for updates. 

Jackalynn and me at Cabrillo National Monument.

Leave a Reply

